Saturday Morning.

So, it’s been a bit since I’ve done a proper post. I’ve been running around in circles trying to set up some new shows, do some work on the blog itself, make everything prettier, you know the drill. Because of that, there’s a lot of music that has been in my ears nonstop, and I thought I should probably do my job and share all of the things I’ve been loving lately with you!

First, I’m really obsessed with the work that SerialBox does, and this video from a few months ago with Madi Diaz is a really perfect blend of folk/pop/blues sensibilities that has been a favorite way for me to start my mornings.

Noah Gundersen released his first full-length album a few weeks ago, entitled ‘Ledges’, and it’s almost certainly going to be one of, if not my favorite album of the year. The way Noah commands your attention, every note, every breath – it’s something you don’t find very often. Noah and his sister Abby filmed this White Session a few weeks ago, and well, not surprisingly, it’s stunning.

 

It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of S. Carey (and his sister, who performs as Luray). The first single from the new S. Carey album is entitled “Fire-scene”, and the song itself, as well as the video released along with it, is absolutely beautiful. There is a winding, delicate sense of melody and care in Sean’s music that I find myself coming back to incredibly frequently.

 

Well, everything Gregory Alan Isakov does is close to perfect, and everything Kevin Ihle films is wonderful – so this version of “Amsterdam” before his show in Colorado is unsurprisingly excellent.

 

I posted another Ballard Session with Bea Troxel a while back, but I thought I should post this one too. Something about her voice, her songwriting, just catches my heart in my throat, and it’s so, so perfect.

 

Speaking of bands that can do no wrong, this video from TYPHOON performing “Caesar/Reed Road” in Boston reminds me how much I can’t wait to see them at some point on their upcoming/current tour. Such a tremendous live show.

 

Alright. Enough links. For now.

For those who missed my last post – I have the wonderful opportunity to host a Music Means Family show with the incredible Kris Orlowski (who’s opening for the sold out Noah Gundersen show) and a set from the talented Gia Margaret. We’re going to be cozying in on Tuesday, March 4th at 7:30, over at 914 California. 10 dollar suggested donation, BYOB, a chance to make new friends. I’d love to see you there. Check out this video from Kris below – and enjoy your Saturday!

Leave a Reply

