Building Communities – Or Why I Write This Blog

As I mentioned before – I’ll be announcing a few more house shows over the next week. I just want to say I’m incredibly excited about these, and about many more we’ll be scheduling in the future.

At the last show we did, with Small Houses and Ty Maxon – a friend of mine asked me, “So why do you do these shows? It seems exhausting. What makes it worth it?” I didn’t give this person an answer that I was satisfied with in that moment, and I’ve spent a lot of time over the last week or so really thinking about it. After digging through endless reasons in my head, and weighing their importance in my heart – I realized it all comes down to one thing.

It’s about community. It’s about camaraderie. It’s about shared experience.

I’ve seen hundreds of concerts. I have incredible memories of so many of them. But the one thing that almost always eluded me is a sense of really, truly sharing those memories with the people around me. It’s rare that I could sit down with a stranger next to me after seeing a show at Lincoln Hall, or the Vic, and open one more beer jsut to talk about how incredible the concert we just saw really was. It’s rare that I’d get a chance to chat with the musicians, not as fan and artist, but instead as two people who care deeply about art, music, and the human experience.

With these intimate gallery shows, I feel as if I’ve found a way to open hearts, to create spaces where artists can share their lives and their experiences through their music in a setting where everyone listening is just as invested in the artists themselves. And maybe in those quiet moments, when a few people sneak over to pour themselves another glass of whiskey, the artist can tell us something that they’ve never told an audience before. Or maybe they’ll be able to play a song they haven’t been willing to play for anyone, especially strangers.

Most importantly, I feel these shows are becoming a place where strangers can become friends, and where I have a chance to meet young, talented artists who came out to the show not because they’re trying to make a name for themselves, or connections, but because they really care about music and the people who play it.

It really is about community.

I loathe posting without sharing music, as well as my thoughts – so I wanted to finish this sentiment with a couple songs from artists who I’ve had the fortune of meeting, spending time with, and getting to hear their music because of interactions I’ve had with them in person – not over the internet – which sometimes feels like a minor miracle.

 

I really hope to see all of you at one of our upcoming shows. It would mean the world to me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

