Monday Funday

Outside of keeping you fine folks in the loop about house shows and other events of note, I haven’t laid out a particularly exciting post in a while. Sorry about that.

When I woke up today, my heart was very heavy. Some days do that. Some more than other. A slow commute to work, black-gray clouds, and a relentless rain didn’t help the situation much at all. So what did I do? I pulled out my phone, grabbed my iPod, uncoiled my headphones, and went to the tunes and videos that have kept me sane through the chaos of the year.

So I thought I’d sit down and put some of those out there into this little space, in the hopes that they might lift up your Monday evening in a way that was so damn necessary for me today. WIthour further ado –

I’ve been obsessed with Courtney Marie Andrews lately. She’s all kinds of powerful, and this video is no exception. It’s so hauntingly reminiscent of a young Joan Baez, her heart heavy and her eyes brimming with tears. Goosebumps. Wow.

 

I also can’t stop listening to Dessa’s new album. She might be every ounce of everything I love about the possibilities of hip-hop as an art form. She broke down a song off that new album into an acoustic living room session. ‘Call Off Your Ghost’:

 

I’m not sure how long this will last online, but I’m madly in love with The National, and this is the whole performance from Bonnaroo this year. Get it while it’s still up…

 

Adam over at Songs For The Day put this song up today, and I can’t stop listening. Seryn – ‘Ivory Black’

 

Something about this song from Cloud Cult taps into the adult version of all of the fears and the amazement I possessed in high school. I can’t stop playing it. Thanks to Bailey for this one.

 

Some exciting announcements over the next couple of weeks – so keep your eyes peeled. And if you haven’t seen yet – I’m posting stuff over on Facebook as well, so come visit me and like it for more frequent updates!

 

Love y’all!

One thought on “Monday Funday

Leave a Reply

