i would never write another song/i would never say another prayer

So, May is a pretty awesome month. I mean, other than it’s 38 degrees and freezing rain. But I mean, otherwise, May is a pretty awesome month.

May/June

May/June

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s a whole lot of feelings right there. And a whole lot of dancing, clapping, and singing along. You should come. You really should.

 

In the meantime, Heather over at Fuel/Friends released an incredible Spring mix today. Go to Fuel/Friends now and download it for free.

 

Also, Caroline Smith and the Goodnight Sleeps posted this video with their tour announcement today. Wow. Wow.

 

Laura Marling played her new single ‘Master Hunter’ on Jools Holland this past week. She’s getting more and more expansive in her talent as she ages (she’s 23). Check this out:

 

I ran into Shane Leonard of Kalispell last night at the S. Carey show. Reminded me to remind you of how good his album that came out last year is. It’s really a perfect soundtrack for this time of year. Go to his Bandcamp after you listen to this song and buy it. Then sit back with a beer, and enjoy.

 

As to that S. Carey show. Breathless. Almost speechless. So frequently when I find myself listening to music I find myself having an intellectual reaction, realizing how poignant lyrics are, then getting swept away in the undercurrent of guitar, or piano, or violin. With S. Carey, it’s so much the opposite. His music is a rapidly expanding river of vastness and possibility exploding from behind my ribcage as I try not to weep and shout with joy at the same time. It is so deeply visceral, and so connected to the Earth, there’s an inescapable, very palpable almost aura-like quality in the room when he plays. If you have a chance to see him, please do go. This a cell phone video from last night, but hopefully it gives you some idea of how powerful it was.

 

I’ll leave you with that, my friends – and I hope to see you out and about this lovely May. Especially once the weather actually catches up.

2 thoughts on “i would never write another song/i would never say another prayer

  1. Do you think SPACE will take away the tables for Spirit Family Reunion? I saw them at Schuba’s and that is not the kind of show where you want to sit.

    • It didn’t look like they were. Which bugs me. I was at that Schuba’s show too – and I would have assumed SPACE would have used the same setup they used for the Lumineers last year – no tables in the middle. It should still be a hell of a time though.

Leave a comment