Links! Links everywhere!

The internet has been a very happy place for people who like music so far in April. I’m going to avoid doing too much writing, and just encourage you to check out all of these songs, streams, and videos, they’re all incredibly worth it.

First, The National played 3 new songs on BBC Radio 1. The interview is great too. They also released the first single, ‘Demons’. Check both below:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p017fh37

 

 

Then, The Shouting Matches debut album is streaming on NPR. For those who haven’t heard this is Justin Vernon (Bon Iver)’s new side project with Phill Cook (Megafaun) and Brian Moen (Peter Wolf Crier). It’s sexy, gritty, stripped down blues-rock and it’s absolutely worth your time.

http://www.npr.org/2013/04/07/176144654/first-listen-the-shouting-matches-grownass-man

 

This Noah Gundersen song from SXSW came out a few weeks ago, but I still can’t stop watching it.

 

Then there’s this new track from Small Houses (whose newest album came out this year, and it’s one of my favorites so far):

Adam over at songsfortheday turned me on to this stunning band Folly and the Hunter – check out this video, their album comes out tomorrow! This is seriously, stupid good.

Now, to brighten your Monday Night/Tuesday morning, have a little party with this video of Wild Cub performing one of my new favorite spring songs:

 

Last but not least, Heather over at Fuel/Friends posted an incredible piece about her experience at the Room 125 Classroom Sessions. If you give a shit about art, you really need to go over there and read it. Link is in the sidebar!

Good luck getting through the week y’all!

One thought on “Links! Links everywhere!

  1. I just stumbled onto your blog after googling “2013 spring mix.” (I’m hoping desperately that some awesome new music will inspire me to spring clean.) Your blog is obviously pretty new, but you have great taste, and you live in Chicago (me too!). I also enjoy your writing and hope to read more about this cute new relationship. Anyway, just wanted to say hi and that I’ll be reading! (Oh, and I’d love a .zip of the winter mix! I’m downloading the spring one as I write.)

Leave a Reply

